Skip to content

Information and Resource Center

Unmatched Customer Benefits

Table of Contents

FlightSafety_Recognition_Programs FlightSafety_Recognition Programs
Unmatched Customer Benefits – Recognition Programs


FlightSafety strives to enhance safety by recognizing and promoting excellence. Our industry-leading programs – including Master Aviator, Master Technician, ProCard and SafetyStar  – keep best practices front and center. Customers achieving these designations know they are among aviation’s most safety-focused elite.

Master Aviator

The Highest Standard in Safety
You’ve worked hard to gain the knowledge and skills needed to earn type ratings and fly proficiently. Take the next step. Go beyond proficiency and become a FlightSafety Master Aviator. Our progressive curriculum expands aviation education beyond the fundamentals covered by initial and recurrent training, and lets you take advantage of the benefits that come with joining an elite group of Master Aviators.

Master Technician

Multiple Paths to Career Development
FlightSafety has issued over 5,000 Master Technician certificates to technicians worldwide.  Designed for the maintenance professional who wants to do more and achieve more, Master Technician training programs focus on a variety of subjects that build on your proven technical abilities with training in skills that would otherwise take years to acquire – making you even more of an asset to your organization.


Recognizing the Highest Levels of Training
At FlightSafety, we’ve always said that the best safety device in any aircraft is a well-trained crew. As a pilot, your passengers and crew depend on you to deliver them safely to their destination. A FlightSafety ProCard is their best assurance of your commitment to safety, certifying that you’ve attained the highest levels of professional training. It tells the world that you have met FlightSafety’s rigorous, industry-leading standards of proficiency, placing you among aviation’s elite.

An Emblem of Distinction

Aviation professionals who carry a ProCard demand the best of themselves, training to keep skills sharp and flights safe. They aspire not just to adequacy, but to the highest levels of proficiency. They don’t just train to maintain. They train to excel. To receive this honor, one must demonstrate superior airmanship. Exhibit sound crew-resource management skills. Display exceptional systems knowledge. And consistently exceed FAA ATP/Type Rating Practical Test Standards. That kind of dedication deserves to be rewarded.

What It Means to Carry a ProCard

FlightSafety awards ProCards to pilots who demonstrate their commitment to safety by exhibiting excellence in their training courses and by returning regularly to build and renew skills. The cards are issued for specific aircraft and expire after eight months.

The Elite ProCard

The Elite ProCard signifies ongoing commitment to regular, safety-enhancing professional training. Pilots who return for training before their current ProCard expires take the next step up to earn an Elite ProCard.


Recognizing Our Customers’ Outstanding Dedication to Safety
Our exclusive SafetyStar initiative recognizes aviation professionals dedicated to excellence and the uncompromising pursuit of safety. This tribute honors pilots and maintenance technicians who aspire not just to adequacy, but to the highest levels of proficiency. When you see someone wearing a SafetyStar, please express your appreciation. That professional’s dedication to aviation safety makes all the difference.

Who Wears the SafetyStar?

More than 13,000 aviation professionals who train at FlightSafety facilities each year have received SafetyStar certification. These aviation professionals – both pilots and technicians – represent a wide variety of companies worldwide. The SafetyStar represents training that puts its wearer among aviation’s elite.

How Do I Earn a SafetyStar?

Pilots earn a SafetyStar after receiving eight consecutive ProCards within five years. FlightSafety awards ProCards to professional pilots who have completed a FlightSafety training program and consistently exceeded the ATP/Type Rating Practical Test Standards. They train at least once every eight months and meet or exceed FlightSafety’s stringent standards for aircraft operations, systems knowledge, crew interaction and overall proficiency.

Technicians earn a SafetyStar after receiving a Master Technician Award. The five-part Master Technician certification program includes comprehensive initial type-specific training, engine run and taxi training, troubleshooting and operational maintenance procedures. In order to receive this certification, technicians must achieve a grade of at least 90 percent on each exam. The length of time required to complete all phases of the training is approximately five years.